What are the steps in the IMCI case management process?

What are the steps in the IMCI case management process?

The IMCI case management process follows these steps:

  1. Assess the child’s illness.
  2. Classify the illness based on signs.
  3. Identify treatment.
  4. Treat the child.
  5. Counsel the caretaker.
  6. Provide follow-up care.

What are the 4 main symptoms of the IMCI?

The four main symptoms listed on the ASSESS & CLASSIFY chart are: cough or difficult breathing, diarrhoea, fever, and ear problem.

What are the 4 steps in checking for general danger signs?

The four main steps are assessment, classification, identify treatment and follow-up care.

How do you assess IMCI?

During an IMCI consultation, health workers assess first for general danger signs, they then assess the four main symptoms (cough or difficult breathing, diarrhoea, fever, ear pain) and nutritional status.

What are the steps of case management?

The Case Management Process consists of nine phases through which case managers provide care to their clients: Screening, Assessing, Stratifying Risk, Planning, Implementing (Care Coordination), Following-Up, Transitioning (Transitional Care), Communicating Post Transition, and Evaluating .

What is IMCI strategy?

In the 1990s, the World Health Organization (WHO) developed a strategy called integrated management of childhood illness (IMCI) to address these problems. This strategy aims to prevent death and disease while improving the quality of care for ill children up to the age of five.

What are the four main symptoms that should be asked of a sick child aged 2 months up to 5 years?

According to the chart, you should ask the mother about the child’s problem and check the child for general danger signs. Then ask about the four main symptoms: cough or difficult breathing, diarrhoea, fever and ear problem.

What is the IMCI strategy?

What are the five danger signs in IMCI?

IMCI identifies general danger signs that may call for hospitalization of the child and then bases its assessment on the presence of 1) cough and difficulty breathing, 2) diarrhea, 3) fever, 4) measles, 5) ear infection, and 6) malnutrition.

What are the five principles of case management?

Case management is guided by the principles of autonomy, beneficence, nonmaleficence, and justice. Case managers come from different backgrounds within health and human services professions including nursing, medicine, social work, rehabilitation counseling, workers’ compensation, and mental and behavioral health.

What are the 5 steps to case planning?

Assess and prepare to develop a case plan. 1.1.

  • Plan for a family group meeting. 2.1.
  • Develop the case plan. 3.1.
  • Implement the case plan. 4.1.
  • Review and revise the case plan. 5.1.
  • Assess and prepare to develop a case plan.
  • 1.1 Gather information about the child and family.
  • 1.2 Assess the child’s strengths and needs.
  • What are the three components of the IMCI strategy?

    Traditionally, then, IMCI is presented as a strategy which has three components, aiming to:

    • improve health workers’ skills;
    • improve health systems; and.
    • improve family and community practices.